Home & Away

By HeidiAndDolly

Roundabout Our Neighbourhood

Today I raced back from my camping trip to join our neighbours throw a surprise Thank You party for our dear neighbour John.

I live in a Cul-de-sac and the houses surround a small roundabout. John has faithfully tended and cared for this roundabout for many years. When I moved in 7 years ago he asked me if I wanted to join the 'Roundabout Association' as many of the neighbours chipped in money for compost and fertiliser and some new annuals each year. I was delighted to join and do my part. He faithfully provided us all with an official accounting and a statement at the end of the summer, with a suggested donation of about £5.

He decided this year to 'hang up his hoe' and retire. And so we all decided to throw him a party. One of the neighbours is very skilled at cake decorating and she produced this beautiful cake, depicting the neighbourhood roundabout, with the carefully mown grass, the roses and other flowers in the middle, and of course, his garden fork!

I am so thankful to live in such a friendly and close-knit community!

Thank you John!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.