Derelict Thursday - Lidwell Chapel

It was a lovely sunny morning as I strolled down to Lidwell Chapel. I felt a bit silly wearing wellies on the heathland paths which were as dry as tinder (which is probably what they are) but I knew that when I got to my destination I would need them. There is a spring which gives the Chapel of St. Anne's its name, Lidwell or Lady's Well and it runs through the place keeping it very muddy.

It was built in the 13th century and the ghost of Robert de Middlecote still reputedly haunts the church. There are many stories about it. One says that because of a curse, nothing grows in the confines of the chapel. You can see that is untrue as it's a job to see the wrought iron fence that surrounds it.

This is part of Tim the SarumStroller's Derelict Thursday challenge and mine is a very different sort of shot from last week's with which I was very pleased to be runner up.

Looking forward to seeing this weeks entries. Good luck to all.

David

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.