Baking Day

Miss E came in at the crack of sparrows this morning and asked if she could chose something out of a cookery book to cook. I said yes assuming it would be her usual choice of cupcakes, pancakes or biscuits.
No, she chose a giant chocolate cake. Which serves 12!
It looked so yummy I said yes!
After a lazy morning spent mostly in the bath I went to Tescos for the ingredients we needed.
I came home and we made a start.
Then I went back to Tescos for the ingredients I'd forgotten!
Then I came back and we carried on.
Now I realise my culinary skills are not that extensive but I've never actually made a cake. This was my first!
There was so much to do!
Creaming, melting, sieving, lining (only one tin - my attempt at reducing the size of the finished product!!), whisking, folding, pouring, cooking, cooling and icing.
All interspersed with lots of sneaky licking of spoons and bowls!
The recipe said the sponge would be light as a feather. It wasn't! But it was very, very tasty.
So rich though - I could only manage a tiny slice.
Followed by another wafer thin slice which pretty much tipped me over the edge!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.