Back in Time

I went to the chiropractor this afternoon to try and get my painful hips sorted.
The clinic is in the old part of Winslow and as I got there a little early - thinking my appointment was at 2pm and discovering it was actually at 2.30pm - I had time to go for a bit of a wander.
It's so pretty and so many envy inducing houses!
This little alley caught my eye - it felt like I'd gone back in time!
The chiropractor took my history and then got me to lay face down on the table to examine me.
"Oh my God" she exclaimed.
My medical knowledge is fairly limited but I know enough to know that's not good!!
She said my leg length differential was pretty much the biggest she'd ever seen! One leg massively longer than the other.
Then she manipulated my pelvis and exclaimed "Oh my goodness!!"
Apparently I have pretty much the loosest, most flexible pelvis she's ever seen!
I had SPD throughout both my pregnancies - an excruciatingly painful, incapacitating condition where the ligaments in your pelvis loosen and it all basically falls apart and you can't move an inch without wanting to scream in agony.
The chiropractor wasn't surprised to hear I'd suffered from it!
I am hyper mobile apparently and all my muscles are working overtime trying to stabilise my pelvis and keep it in place. The muscles are all knotted and in spasm - contracted to the point they've shortened one leg!
She did lots of stretching and massaging (which was so painful I had to breathe through it like I was in labour!) and by the end of it she was satisfied that my legs were more or less the same length again!
Then I had a lovely relax attached to a tens machine (which again took me back to labour!) and then she smothered deep freeze cream on my back and hips which was a new sensation for me! I walked out so much more comfortably than I walked in. Fabulous!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.