Tree Rat In Flight

Jazzy dog and I went for a quick run round after lunch hoping to shoot birds. Suddenly Jazz was in hunting mode, tail held high and muzzle to the ground. I spotted the squirrel before she did and luckily I had my camera set for birds in flight.

I like the way the sunlight has highlighted its ears and revealed its skinny, rat-like tail under the fluff. These American interlopers are not my favourite animals. People think they're cute and cuddly but these rodents will take birds' eggs and chicks.

I was talking to Luke and Carl about animal behaviour in the camera shop yesterday. Luke said that as he stood at his back door recently a squirrel approached up the garden path. He stood still and it continued and then ran up his leg. Naughty me, I ventured that it thought he was a tree and was after his nuts. :) He said that it wasn't interested in them and continued climbing up his body until he moved, which startled it and it jumped off.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.