My love affair.....

...with green moths continues!
I really had to consider for a long time what to blip today, I had several images I could have blipped, but I also felt moths don't get so much coverage, and there are some amazingly colourful species out there, probably unseen by 99% of the population.
So, I decided to blip yet another Autumnal beauty, the Red-green carpet (Choloroclysta siterata).
With a wingspan of 30 -36mm this is a fairly typical 'carpet' moth, flying with a flapping movement not unlike a butterfly. It flies typically in September and October, then hibernates as an adult and flying again in early spring.
It occupies a mainly woodland habitat, and is locally distributed throughout Britain.
I hope seeing how beautiful it is, you will forgive me :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.