The perfect.......

...Toadstall!
I noticed these Fly agaric Amanita muscaria toadstalls the other day. I had been searching for some for a while, and could not believe my eyes when I noticed these growing in open grassland just round the corner from home! There were several of them growing together and I made a mental note to return today to blip them. Unfortunately, when I did return they had been knocked over and stamped on, which was very sad, as they really are very beautiful, and surely no risk if you educate your children not to EVER pick fungi in the wild!!
On my way back to the car, I noticed 3 more on the other side of the road untouched under another birch tree, seems my luck was in! especially since I was feeling dizzy again and in a hurry to get home and rest.
The Fly agaric comes from the Amanita genus, renowned for it's poisionous members of which the Death Cap Anamita phalloides and The Destroying angel Amanita bisporigeraare probably most well known. Although unlikely to kill you, the Fly agaric can make you very unwell indeed!
It is the quintessential toadstall, with it's white spotted bright red cap and white gills and stalk with the yellow edged white veil.
It can be found in woodland or beside isolated trees, and is ectomycorrhizal (forming a relationship with tree roots) especially those of Birch and Pine.
I was really saddened to hear of the death of Lynda Bellingham, such a brave lady, so sad she didn't get to enjoy her final Christmas. My prayers are with her family right now

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.