The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Stormy Tuesday, Gloucester Street

Every Tuesday morning without fail, a very large florists' van from the Netherlands (Gebr de Mooj is the name on the vehicle) parks at the bottom of Gloucester street. Steps pop down, and the florists of the street run up to make their selections. Today, because I had it in mind to blip it, Gebr wasn't there! Pooh!

So this is Gloucester street, the subject of my One Street, many lives project, on a windy morning, following the tail of hurricane Gonzalo. The stiff winds eventually caused a power cut in the lower half of Stroud: school's supply went out, and so did Tesco's, in our case for about ten minutes. We coped fine in the nursery.

This handsome cream building at the end of the street, across the Slad Road, is, I think, the former Magistrate's court. I've blipped it before with the winter light on the paintwork: it usually looks good at this time of year. The tree outside suggests that it once had a bigger garden. Maybe the Slad road wasn't always there.

See more of my Gloucester Street blips by looking at the links on my biography.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.