The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Copper Beech in autumn, part II

About a month ago, I blipped the leaves of the same copper beech tree. https://www.blipfoto.com/entry/2093436973229279503
At the time I thought the orange colouring was only visible underneath. Now I see that it spreads to the surface of the leaves, too, as the nights grow colder and the chlorophyll recedes from the leaves.

See: Fagus Sylvatica Pupurea: [Leaves] Ovate, slightly wavy, 5-10cm long, 3-6cm wide, leaf stem 0.5-1.5cm long. Early leaf shoots are fresh red in colour. Leaves are shiny brown-red above, brown-green below. Orange autumn colouring.

I am lucky to have such a beautiful specimen to gaze upon during my midweek lunch breaks.
Here's the same tree in summer colours: https://www.blipfoto.com/entry/2057960729381702316

We took the children on a trip to the park, the play equipment and the cafe today, to celebrate the beginning of half term. I finally managed to use a few words of Polish from my course, mentioning "Something to eat and to drink". I must have got the pronunciation right, because some little ears pricked up! We had fruit juice and gingerbread teddies. After that a 'Pinglish' conversation ensued between us, negotiating over the remaining two teddies. Eventually we went back to nursery, moderately tired but happy. Some of us, including the playworker, were liberally spattered with mud! If anyone had seen us out and about, they would have been delighted by our good behaviour.

Later, Lea Anne and I went climbing. I was so tired from the recent run of sleeplessness that I was suddenly unable to cope with overhangs, or climbing in and out of 'holes'. But I persevered: better than spending the whole evening snoozing on the sofa.

And now, my friends, it's half term! Let the celebrations begin!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.