Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Dusk

... equals favourite time of the day to take pictures.

Well, what a day it's been... I set the alarm for 8am having gone to bed at 2:15am (Diwali firecrackers made it impossible to sleep and the I got drawn into a movie) but got woken by my phone buzzing. It was SweetArt saying she had arrived and was at the airport sorting out local (telephone/data) connections.

G & I met up with her and her friends around 10; in time to get to the service at our Church at 10:30.  A really good morning but SweetArt & G had to leave to pick another lady up from the airport. That done, we all met up at Carter's for an all you can eat and drink Friday brunch - which amazingly; spread out over three of their restaurants!

We then headed down to the old quarter of Dubai - Al Fahidi Fort/Dubai Museum - to meet up with Louise and her aunt and had a guided walk through the museum. I was the guide!! :) It was absolutely manic. Must remember not to go on a Friday again!

The girls then took an abra to the Spice Souk whilst G & I drove the cars around to park in the multi-storey car park where we got this amazing view from. :)  I must try to come here more often as it reminds me of what a vibrant city I live in. We then wended our way to the Spice Souk and the Gold Souk buying some pashminas along the way, and lastly, we stopped off at Yahala for a light dinner. I took the opportunity to nip into the dry cleaners to collect my suit for Sunday morning.

Relieved to be home and catch up with necessary admin. It took a long time to narrow my picture down to this as there were many to choose from and somehow today, a collage didn't feel right; so here you have it - the Creek on a Friday - its busiest time with lots of abras (water taxis) transporting passengers from one side to the other. Please don't miss the dinner cruise boat as it is providing the bit of pink I need for BCAM October!! Well, that and the sky.

Would you please click here in order to help a give a free mammogram to a woman who can't afford one? Thank you. :)

PS. Hope I picked the right image. This was the alternative.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.