Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Halloween already?

This morning Hexham was preparing for the annual Spook Night to celebrate Halloween. "A bit previous," you might think, but I note that Bonfire Night will be celebrated next Saturday on November 1st. It all serves to confuse me.

I wonder if the 39th Regiment Royal Artillery (the Welsh Gunners) were also confused? Their last march through Hexham, before the regiment disbands in the New Year, was today. Instead of marching down Beaumont Street, which is the main street, they had to pop in and out of the park en route to the Abbey for a service!

I was too late to see them because I had an optician's appointment in Corbridge. Instead I found rows of pumpkins "marching" towards the Abbey as the fun fair rides had final checks and the hot dog and candy floss makers prepared their wares.

I did have a lovely time chatting with the other Marjorie and enjoying coffee and scones in the comfort of her home. Mmm.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.