Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

The Wisdom of Trees

This is Max Adams, polymath and author of The Wisdom of Trees. He is an archaeologist, historian, author and a great speaker, the sort of person who could make the shopping list interesting.

This evening he was at the Robinson Gay Gallery in Hexham giving a talk to promote his book. I've heard him previously when he talked about the family of John Martin, Victorian artist from Haydon Bridge. I had no idea that many years ago, Max used to live in a wood in a static caravan, until he was mugged by drug users and the caravan torched...... Nowadays he owns some land and has planted a wood.

I learned a lot about managing woods and the importance of cutting down trees and using them appropriately. He loves trees but he is not a tree hugger! I can't review the book yet, but it sounds fascinating and I have my signed copy.

There is a great exhibition of woodcuts in the gallery at the moment, so do visit it if you are near to Hexham.

(Otherwise a quiet day with the refashioning of a dental filling.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.