Swimming Against The Tide

By ViolaMaths

New Shoe

The offside rear tyre on the car had been losing pressure for a while. I'd been pumping it up using the footpump and building my leg muscles in the process, but eventually I concluded that there was a slow puncture and took it to the tyre place.

The report last week was that it "had a bulge in the side and was completely disintegrated". The tyre man put the spare on and ordered a new one for me. My Dad sent me an e-mail saying he'd pay for the new tyre rather than have me driving around on one that was about to fall to bits. Thanks Dad!

The new one was fitted this morning, along with a new fan belt (which had also disintegrated). The wipers have not made their grinding noise for the last couple of days, so I'm hanging on with those until I hear the noise again.

While I was waiting for the place to open I also pulled out the radio and wiggled all the wires (again), so, for the time being we have music coming out of both speakers again too, which is nice.

I also managed to survive a morning in town on my own, which bodes well for potential partial return to work next week. Fingers crossed.

I note that one shoe for the car costs more than twice as much as any shoes I would ever buy for myself!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.