Beewriter

By Beewriter

I love a bit of steam!!!

So....the sun was shining and I wanted to play out. My 'photo friends' had either families or work today but Carey fancied a little jaunt out. I said I'd heard there was a craft fair on at Gorton Monastery but when I googled it I couldn't see a word about it. I had a little think and thought it would be fun to nip to Ramsbottom instead to see the steam trains, go in Memories shop and then grab a cuppa somewhere.

We set off and I had a moment of stupidity when I forgot that we had to turn onto the M66.....as we reached Saddleworth we realised we were heading for Leeds and not Rammy!!! A quick turn around and eventually we arrived...doh!

We were in time for a steam train and a diesel train.....I do love steam trains best. I took a few pics and then as it snaked itself away we wandered into Memories. It is an Aladdin's cave, jam packed with collectables, and antiques and lots of quirky stuff, it was on an antique programme a week ago, I caught it whilst flicking through daytime TV (I'm ashamed to admit to).

The Mouse Trap cafe was open and it would have been rude not to have gone in. The chocolate cafe was open too....again, it would have been rude not to have gone in, although I have to make it clear we didn't eat anything there! I bought some champagne truffles for a friend who has a birthday coming up....(I don't think they will survive that long though).

Anyway...it was a great day. But, I have just realised why I couldn't find information about the craft fair at Gorton Monastery.....it was at Victoria Baths!!!! I worry myself sometimes....sigh!!!

Some more here if you fancy a shufty :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.