Only (Canine) Child

As I write, our now one and only dog is hiding under my desk shivering and panting. Never mind that today is the 8th of November and past Guy Fawkes Day some idiotic neighbours are letting off fireworks nearby. Poor Fergus can hear crackers going off miles away and becomes very stressed. There is not a lot we can do to calm him down.
If I had my way I would ban the sale of fireworks to private individuals in New Zealand and only allow their use at authorized public displays.
From today Fergus is our only canine child. Gyspy went to live with a lovely lady called Erin who will spoil her rotten and love her to bits. Erin had already met Gypsy when she was out walking with a dog-owner friend in the very early mornings. She had fallen in love with her and it seemed to us that she would be an ideal owner when we had to make the hard decision to re-home Gypsy. So fingers crossed this will work out well for all of us. We will get to see Gypsy frequently and hopefully Fergus will not be too lonely. He is a very “needy” dog and spends a lot more time close to me than Gypsy ever did. She is a lot more independent and resilient. As I have often said “the trouble with animals is they steal their way into our hearts”….

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.