By the Lady Norwood Rose Garden

In Wellington overnight; on my morning run I chose to head up the hills behind the central city. Up to the National Observatory. On the way back I saw a sign pointing into the Botanic Garden, for a sculpture trail. At the bottom of that path, is the Lady Norwood Rose Garden (behind where I was standing to get this photo).

Three generations of the Norwood family have been generous benefactors to the botanic garden, and this sculpture is a memorial to the second generation, Sir Walter and Lady Rana (whose ashes are buried here), erected by their children in 2001.

The large bronze casting is an enlargement of a small sculpture by Bob Bennett (a Californian sculptor), which Lady Rana Norwood had acquired. The enlargement was created and cast by Andrew de Boer, an Auckland based sculptor, known also for his wooden and cast concrete pieces.

Title: Rasa Leela (The Dance of Life)
Artist: Bob Bennett
Casting: Andrew DeBoer
Date: 2001

Over the last four years I have posted a number of photos of public sculptures; indeed my very first posting was a sculpture. I have started tagging them

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.