A Meandering Life...

By Skeena

Paradox

War is a Paradox.

We fight to gain peace.



Not everyone went to war to fight.

These are the medals my Great Grandfather won during WW1.

Left to right:

Military Medal (a copy) won for his actions during the capture of Stuff Redoubt on the Somme in October 1916.

1914-15 Star (aka Pip)

British War Medal (aka Squeak)

Victory Medal (aka Wilfred)

The last three are his genuine medals.


Only 16 Military Medals were won by his unit during the whole of the war. This I find amazing.

I know many, if not all acted bravely during the horrors they uncounted but to do this without a rifle, pistol or any other form of defence takes exceptional courage.

My Great Grandfather was a member of the 76th Field Ambulance, a stretcher bearer, medic, life saver. They worked in the front line trenches and often in no-mans-land without protection, often risking their lives for friend and foe.

Last night I gave a short talk to my local Photographic Society about the work of the Field Ambulances during the war using images taken at the time that are held by the Imperial War Museum.

I have also created a website detailing my Great Grandfather’s life and role during WW1 entitled ‘The Whistons at War’. It also tells a little about his brothers who also went to the front.

###############################################################

Mono Monday: DIALOGUE

My Hearts goes to the following:

Isbi
JDO

My Stars go to the following:

Jipsy
Rainie
BikerBear
Kit267
Lightfantastic
Missycat3
Overthebridge19
Libra

It was a mixed bag this week for a difficult challenge. My mini awards have been given out, as usual, as fun but I do mix them between being creative, being ‘out of the box’ and quality of the image.

Next week I hope will be an easier challenge and allow techniques come to the fore.

The title is FRAMED.

Good luck and have fun! ;-)

###############################################################

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.