I'm Not The Pheasant Plucker, ....

I'm the pheasant plucker's wife,
And when we pluck together
It's a pheasant plucking life!

MrQ heard this song on the radio when our children were small, we got the record and our whole family loves it. :)

I went with my daughter to buy a car that my grandson can drive when he is seventeen in the new year. She's going to put her S in the garage and use the VW Fox over the winter. We both love visiting car sales places, the banter is such a buzz. :)

By the time I got to Amwell nature reserve the light was fading. I visited the James hide and found a pretty, very well-groomed, young woman inside nursing an OS map. She had left south-east London by train on a whim, wanting to spend time in a log-cabin in the woods. She couldn't afford that so a local B&B and the James hide in borrowed wellies was the next best thing. I asked her what she was running away from and she said she had major life choices to make.

I then went to the White hide, or The Hilton as it is known. It's huge, I had it to myself. I wasn't expecting to see a pheasant. At least it's safe from the guns here. Strange that I'm sipping Georgian wine as I write this. The word pheasant is derived from the ancient town of Phasis, the predecessor of the modern port city of Poti in Western Georgia.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.