Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Did you hear?

Today wasn't really a photo day - hubs and I went to the Auto Show at the Tampa Convention Center where we drooled over cars that are insanely out of most everyone's price range and dismissed those that were in our range. Followed by an excellent lunch at a little French salad/sandwich shop in Tampa. Back home by mid-afternoon where Hubs tucked in for a nap and I wandered out back to see what I could find.

I continue to be fascinated by these little Brown Anoles that are everywhere here. There were several in our screened patio and more outside on the bricked in area. They are skittish so one has to sneak up slowly to get a shot. In my case, on my hands and knees with butt in the air and chin nearly on the ground. That probably would have made a more interesting blip, as I think about it! But this is what you have - a simple little lizard caught in mid-lip-smack.

So, the big news... yesterday, after much soul searching Hubs resigned from the job he took here. For the last month we've known that the situation wasn't going in a good direction - for so many reasons that don't bear going into here. Anyway, we talked long and hard and considered the things we've always felt were important, ethically and personally...and this was the only decision that made sense. Both of us feel a sense of relief that this is over, even though it also means hubs is unemployed for now. We plan to spend the next couple of months chilling out and exploring FL before he starts looking for something after the holidays. We hope that we can stay in the Tampa/St. Pete area, but I suppose we'll go wherever work takes us. I feel a profound sense of relief right now.

I think we will head down to Redington Beach shortly to see if we can catch the sunset. Then, maybe somewhere for a casual dinner. By the way, speaking of dinners ... the hogfish last night was just delicious! Hogfish eat a lot of crustaceans and mollusks so their meat has a sweet flavor which is divine. It definitely benefits from a simple preparation. And it was enhanced by some freshly squeezed Meyer lemons that came from Creative Carol's tree!

Hoping you are all having a terrific weekend.

Debbi

PS: I'm making progress on my sunset learning curve ... today's five best starting HERE on FLICKR

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.