THE BEAUTY OF NATURE

Mr. HCB knows that my favourite colour is purple and my favourite vegetable is sprouts, so to show his love for me, he is growing purple sprouts! I guess I would have liked something a bit more romantic, but after 46 years, sprouts will do nicely and who knows, he may surprise me although bless him, having my birthday the day after Christmas Day is not easy!

I went out into the garden again this morning, hoping to find a spider’s web that was frosted, but sadly there were none - well, I had seen one but it was on the top of the conservatory roof, and I don’t think I am up to climbing just yet!!

Here is a collection of water drops, frozen together on one of the sprout plants and it does look as if there is a spider in there or perhaps even more than one. I thought it looked like a beautiful piece of jewellery!

I know I have said it before, and many will agree with me, that since I have been taking a photograph a day from the beginning of 2013 - and I can’t believe that I have blipped for 694 days without a break - I really do “see” more and the beauty of nature never fails to surprise and delight me.

“The best remedy for those who are afraid,
lonely or unhappy is to go outside,
somewhere where they can be quite alone
with the heavens, nature and God.
Because only then does one feel
that all is as it should be
and that God wishes to see people happy,
amidst the simple beauty of nature.
As longs as this exists,
and it certainly always will,
I know that then there will always be
comfort for every sorrow,
whatever the circumstances may be.
And I firmly believe
that nature brings solace in all troubles.”
Anne Frank, The Diary of a Young Girl

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.