DoF

Playing with my Tamron again (yes I know, but we all had our eyes tested yesterday and although I do need new glasses the changes have not been put down to eyestrain peering through the view finder . . . ).  I am now happy with the telephoto side of things, so today I thought that I would go to the other extreme and check out the close-ups.

My first set of exposures were with a wooden rule, thinking that it would add something to the images, but the markings weren’t clear enough to give the definition that I wanted, and after looking at the shots it was apparent where the rule came from . . .    The steel rule was then brought out of retirement.

The two images are with the zoom right out at 270mm and as close as it will focus giving the highest magnification.  The top image was taken at f/6.3 which is the max aperture  at 270mm  (f/3.5 at 18mm), and the bottom image at the smallest aperture, f/40.  

The Depth of Field at f/40 is good enough for most subjects that I can currently think of, and the narrow DoF at f/6.5 will be great for many effects.

I think I am happy with this.

(ps – if anyone from Tamron reads my little blip exercises, please note that I do take cheques  . . . ).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.