Teasel

By Teasel

The Wrong Coat

Wet, wild and windy today. Though not nearly as bad as some places, we did seem to have all kinds of weather in one day.

I finished work early so I could get home to collect BB from school.  My first job was to go on a hunt for BB’s school coat.  He had come home from after school club yesterday with the wrong coat (though it turns out he had actually left breakfast club in the morning with the wrong coat).  The coat he had belonged to a boy from another school – identical coat but wrong badge.  I was assured that the boy would be at breakfast club this morning and that they would ensure that they swapped.  On picking up BB he still had the wrong coat, so my first port of call was after school club to find out why.

It turns out the other boy turned up at breakfast club without BB’s coat this morning – in fact he had turned up without any coat (and it wasn’t a day to be without a coat!).  We then interrogated the boy about the whereabouts of BB’s coat.  He thought it might be in the lost property at his school, but to be honest he was clueless!!  I headed to the other school and asked to search their lost property box, but it wasn’t there.  The secretary then asked us whose coat BB had, and she was able to confirm that the owner’s mother had been on the phone complaining that he had lost it, and that his was the third coat he had lost in the past few months! The secretary then took us to the cloakroom and we did a search and lo and behold I found BB’s coat in a heap on the floor  (along with loads of assorted other abandoned stuff).  Hurrah for my determination.   BB was delighted, and the secretary went off to phone the mother to let her know that the coat had turned up.  After that bit of detective work we headed to badminton.

I’m not sure what I have done this evening – apart from a few chores – but now it is time for bed.

Here is a street view taken on my way to collect BB from badminton.  You can’t really tell that it is wet, wild and windy!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.