Teasel

By Teasel

The Field

As soon as we got out of the drive this morning we hit an ice rink. The pavements were treacherous. We were both laden – BB with his cello, me with cakes for the school fayre and his school bag. We progressed very slowly and carefully and then BB slipped with his cello on his back. No damage done (I hope), but I carried it the rest of the way to school.

I had half an hour to do a couple of errands, before it was back to the school Christmas Fayre. The children make everything that is sold on the stalls (apart from the cakes) and I am sure it ticks lots of boxes on the school curriculum – creativity, arts, enterprise, numeracy, etc. etc. - but the event is utter mayhem reminiscent of black Friday! The children love it – the parents dread it!! The children just want to buy lots of stuff – especially the things that they have made. You part with lots of cash and don’t have much to show for it! I went off with a couple of friends to recover in the corner of a local café!!

BB and I visited some friends this afternoon – we had a lovely catch up, then it was off to swimming.

I have been wrapping presents tonight – Christmas and birthday – as it is TT’s birthday today. He is off out on his work Christmas meal tonight, so we have barely seen him. BB said he shouldn’t get any presents as it is too close to Christmas!

This is the view out to the back of us. It will be gone this time next year, as they are to be building houses in the field starting early in 2015. I blipped it once before on a brighter day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.