Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Sushi!

I am seeing a certain theme as I watch various birds trying to eat fish ... they frequently overestimate their ability to swallow the fish. I watched this female anhinga trying repeatedly to swallow her sushi for well over 15 minutes. She tossed it, she stabbed it, she took it underwater, she tried gulping it, and she still wasn't able to swallow it. When I finally left her, she was still working on it. The fish was, thankfully, well past any signs of life.

I took a few other shots of her along with some redheads, a squirrel and some butterflies - six shots on Flickr, starting HERE

Tomorrow I am off to the dentist and then heading down to Gulfport to pick up a few last minute Christmas gifts. And I'm sure some unsuspecting wild thing will find itself in front of my lens at some point!

Hubs is just now arriving in Alabama, after 11 hours of driving. He'll have dinner tonight with his brother and sister-in-law, and then see his mom tomorrow. He's stopping tonight at the cemetery to "see" his dad, who passed away earlier this year. I am hoping it's a good trip for him. As for me...I'm already missing him.

Happy Monday, people...

Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.