The perfect finish

Tidying up the client's in-house design attempt took most of the time after I got back from cardiac rehab. A few elements had to be scanned in first, which my print coordinator looked after before passing digital versions on to me. All was ready by 3.30, client approval was immediate, and all that remained then was to add this final page to the package for uploading to the printer's automated system.

I'm all for progress and modern technology, but this InSite system that the printer uses is a bit of a pain. The entire process is automated, including checks made for potential problems with artwork. It's all well and good, but I really don't see the point of approving on-screen something you've designed yourself and have become used to seeing on a computer monitor. I really do think hard-copy proofs are preferable. Add to this the fact that my upload speed is disastrously slow, and I long for the good old days of burning files to CD and delivering that to the printer. It was 5.00 by the time everything had uploaded to the remote system, which didn't leave much time for rest and recovery before heading in to town to meet a couple of people.

I was meeting a recent Music Group recruit first (one who's only come twice to actual sessions so far), and then was going on from there to meet a long-time friend who I haven't seen since Christmas Eve. The first encounter was in my venue of choice when meeting new music recruits, the Library Bar in the Central Hotel. It's a terrific spot, wonderfully devoid of background music or TV screens, furnished rather eccentrically, and all in all a great place for a quiet chat.

From there it was on to the Front Lounge, where I had a great time with Alan. Home by 10.00 and straight to bed, tired but contented.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.