Stating the obvious

Another blissfully lazy day, upset only by a too-early phone call about a file-corruption problem with one of the pages for the recent work-till-all-hours job (I could happily have strangled the caller, but denied that Iw as still in bed when I took the call and my voice obviously gave away where I was). Half the morning went sorting out the problem and uploading a revised version to the printer's automated system (the system had flagged a problem two days ago, but a contact at the printer's said proofs had been produced without problem and knew nothing about anything being amiss - fortunately an actual person did a check and the corruption complication came to light).

There are other jobs waiting in the wings which I need to turn to (and will tomorrow), but the grand plan today, especially since it's rehab-free, was not to set the alarm and allow my built-in body clock decide when I woke. So much for that grand plan. I'll begin/return to work on these other jobs tomorrow when I get back from the hospital.

Listening to music, grabbing a nap, watching some boring daytime TV, grabbing a nap, checking email, playing sudoku, grabbing a nap ... that was more or less the size of the day. At least it was until I suddenly realised I'd done nothing about a blip and still hadn't gone for my regulation walk. So into the car I got and out to Dollymount strand I went, parking the car near the kitesurfing area near the Bull Wall before walking along the beach for forty minutes or so in the all-pervading murky greyness. When I saw it from a distance, I wondered what this sign and others like it were all about. I suppose I shouldn't have been surprised that they'd turn out to be yet another example of the wretched nanny state we live in these days and the cover-our-ass-in-case-someone-sues-us mentality that is all too prevalent. I mean to say, you'd want to be more than a little unaware not to notice a kitesurfer running along the beach getting up to take-off speed.

< Turn on Grumpy Old Man tone of voice >
Grrrrrrrr... I want to go back to the '70s when life was worth living.
</ Trun off Grumpy Old Man tone of voice >

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.