Reclaim your life...

I hate when my work spills over into my weekends. I absolutely do not want to even think about work related stuff over weekends. I sure have better ways to keep myself busy. But I've been getting the Sunday evening blues lately...and I guess I have nobody but myself to blame for that. This really bad habit of mine to push things for later takes a toll on my schedule. At some point or the other, things pile up so much that additional effort required to keep things from tipping off takes away valuable time that can be spent doing 'better' things. Someday, I'll be in some serious trouble because of this. I can sure do better with a little more planning (and inspiration!). Lately, I have not been feeling inspired enough to keep going strong. I like to take things easy, start my day early, come back early, browse through photographs, watch travel shows on TV, have simple home-cooked food for dinner and go to sleep with music or a nice movie. I don't feel motivated enough to take those extra steps, bend over my back and try to 'achieve' things at work - even if it means being 'left behind' in the race. I badly want to go on a vacation - to the hills...maybe something like the mountain biking trip I did last summer or any of the monsoon treks or monsoon biking trip. But I guess I have to hold on for a little longer. Priorities have been changing over time but the change itself is not strong enough to drive decisions, or maybe, I am just not responding. It is times like these when I feel very strongly about this. And it is times like these when I really admire people who have it in them to follow their heart. It is always a privilege and honour to have them as friends.

My window faces west. In the afternoons, I see the light entering the room through the windows. Today when I saw the lights and the shadows, I got this strong urge of shooting some portraits. Not having anyone at home, out of sheer instinct, I call up LSP. The voice from the other side -

hey dude...
hey...what're you doing?
nothing really, reading a book
okay...can you come over, in say...5 mins? you can get your camera if you feel like.
okay, I'll be there

...that's it! no questions asked! I like such people who are up for doing things without questioning, at a moment's notice. That, to me, is the real sense of adventure. When he arrived and I told him why I called him over, he probably thought that he should've asked "the question" :) Anyway, thanks LSP for obliging. I didn't realize it would be that easy! :)

P.S. - another video that I really like.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.