Over the Rainbow Bridge

Sad news today - Big Sid passed away. He was fine last night, but this morning he didn't come out for breakfast and the two ladies were pressed up against him. This was unusual since the ladies were still being cautious of him yesterday and preferred to sleep apart. Now I know that they were comforting him.

When I picked up Big Sid, I noticed that his tummy was enormous and felt very odd. I knew that I had to get him to the vet quickly and they had an early appointment. I jumped in a taxi and got stuck in traffic. The pox of London is the school and work traffic at rush hour. I missed the appointment, but the vet kindly saw me anyway. He kept Sid in for observation and so he could syringe-feed him.

I went in to work and did what I could there. At 3, the vet called to say that Sid was deteriorating rapidly. I hopped on a train, but Sid passed away at the surgery before I got there. The vet did all he could do and he was in the best hands. It's very sad for us and the ladies. Big Sid was such a great character and his bumbling will be very much missed.

I've just noticed that Big Sid was my blip a year ago today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.