the street...

After a long time, went for a morning photowalk. Today was probably the biggest group I've been with. Decided to go back to the street where we went for the Holi photography last year. I had liked the streets and the narrow alleys back then and always wanted to go back. But I was told that the area is one of the most notorious ones of Hyderabad where the crime rate is supposedly the highest. I was warned against roaming around freely in that area. In the last three years (almost) of my stay in Hyderabad, I have heard similar things about the old city umpteen number of times. Hyderabad is clearly divided into two parts. 'that' part one is the old city where people are probably living for generations; and 'this' part is the so-called modern or new part, which is primarily inhabited by IT and supporting industry. Somehow there's a lot of apprehension in the people of 'this' part of the city about 'that' part. I somehow have totally opposite views. I find 'that' part of the city to be more inviting and congenial. People are polite, friendly and accommodating. If sometime I leave Hyderabad, I would remember 'that' part of the city more than 'this' one.

Same was the case today. Surely the inhabitants of the area we ventured into today, were not used to seeing unknown faces with big cameras in hand. There was a slight feeling of discomfort but then slowly the place started accepting the strangers. People started conversing, even asking for photos. Kids, as always, were the first one to show their curiosity. For a change, adults followed them. Parents were gladly letting their children getting clicked and then were enjoying looking at the lovely pictures. One of the kids even took my camera and clicked a few pictures of his friends and siblings. I guess even they enjoyed having a fresh set of faces amongst them.

What followed soon after was the heaviest breakfast that I had in a long time. Long chats over hot poori, sweets and juices. I had so much that I had to crash once I was back home. There's still a lot left in the weekend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.