An awfully big adventure

Today was a big day for young Pio. Only two days after having 'the op', he is as right as rain (I wonder where that expression comes from) and ready for his first foray into the big outside world.

I was a nervous wreck (of course). Poor Cousteau bore the brunt of my anxiety and decided to just give up and come inside to his bed. Poor boy.

Pio took to like a duck to water. He chased leaves, played in grasses, climbed little trees, jumped every time a car went past, a person went past, a bird went past. He was amazing to watch and I just sat for ages enjoying his enjoyment.

He discovered that he could get under the deck and spent a very happy time under there. Cousteau whined when he couldn't get to him and stuck his nose in the hole. Every now and then a pure white paw would pop out and swipe said nose. Very funny.

Since Pio was having a big day, I decided to take him round to meet H. H is B's little sister. She is sick at the moment and can't get out of the house to come here, so Pio went for another adventure in his carry cage.

He was an angel! He played beautifully and then lay in the sun licking himself. Once the excitement of the day got the better of him, he took himself back into his carry cage and promptly fell asleep.

Cousteau and I went for a walk.

Now both boys are fed and happy and curled up fast asleep. I have lots to do tonight before I can join them.

A good weekend in all.

Night.

========================================================

This one's for Pio. How the heck do parents let go of their kids when I feel this strung out watching a cat gaining his independence?

==========================================================

Edit: Both boys are now playing with their 'new' toys I bought them from an op shop yesterday. Pio is cuddling/wrestling with his. Cousteau is destroying his by chewing. Different strokes, eh?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.