Home...

Home today...so glad to be away from the maddening work. Looking at the amount of backlog I had serious doubts of getting away from office in time. Wanted to leave early from work today ? just for the heck of it. Thankfully, I was not too delayed. Reached the airport pretty early. Waiting for my flight, I overheard two gentlemen talking over a cup of coffee. The older one (probably on the other side of 50) was complaining about too much attention from his female colleagues. Interesting?too much attention from the fairer sex ? I never had that problem ? The narration and the suggestions provided by his confidant were interesting and funny at the same time ?

It was a Bangalore-Hyderabad-Kolkata flight and my brother was flying in from Bangalore. We didn?t have any trouble in booking seats next to each other. I was seeing him after more than years.

It was a late night flight and I was doubtful about the blip. But we reached home about half an hour before midnight and that gave me an opportunity for this real quick picture.

Kolkata greeted me like it always had in the past. Chaotic traffic, cigarette smoke, smell of strong tea and lot of honking on the road. This is one of those cities which have a great inertia against change. But despite its share of problems and shortcomings, the city does have a very strong character of its own, which is rather interesting and mesmerizing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.