Pixies at the Troxy

I met Fred after work and we headed to Limehouse and the Troxy - a grade II listed building built as a cinema in 1933. It's now a venue for bands, boxing matches, ballroom dancing competitions, and much more, but it was the first time I'd ever stepped foot in it.

I was most impressed by the courteous nature of the security company. Normally, queues of gig-goers are shouted at, jostled around, and bags are ruthlessly searched. This time, the security spoke to us politely and quietly, and they didn't wish to search my bag after I reassured them that I didn't have any food or drink inside it.

The Pixies and their support band, The Tribes, were both superb. We didn't manage to push for a good viewing position so we hopped to the back where there was space for dancing and even little, short me could see the heads of the band. There were lots of static people in front of me - I can't understand how people can go to a gig and just stand motionless. It's just not in my nature not to, at least, tap a foot to the beat.

We caught to new East London Line link to Crystal Palace, thus cutting our journey-time by a great deal. Hooray!

I'm off to Aberdeen for the weekend, so see you Monday. Have a good weekend!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.