Swimming Against The Tide

By ViolaMaths

Glorious Technicolour

Today definitely started off in black and white again. Felt dreadful when I woke this morning. Really ill, really peaky. Not not good.

However, I found some determination from somewhere not to let it beat me today. So I made a list of things to do, and managed to do a few of the easier ones.

I then kept my appointment at the gym, which was a real turning point. After 18 mins on the treadmill, 13 mins on the rower and 20 mins on the funny bike thingy with handles I felt much better. I also spent my time on the funny bike thingy composing an e-mail in my head. It's probably an e-mail I shall never even type up, let alone send, but composing it made me feel better.

So, if life won't go back into colour the easy way, I'm going to have to force it back the hard way. With work, exercise, CBT techniques, self-denial (of sweet stuff), and damned hard grit.

I have the nail polish ready to paint my nails - one colour for each nail - in order from left little finger (yellow) to right little finger (green). The toes will be done likewise.

I have thus far used 2 of the felt-tipped pens. I anticipate using more before the day is out. They are in the same order as yesterday, and are used to colour in daily boxes to signify the following achievements:

Purple - Maths
Pink - Languages
Red - Viola Practice
Orange - Piano Practice
Yellow - Flumpophone practice
Light Green - Walk / Outside Exercise
Dark Green - Gym / Indoor Exercise
Turquoise - Yoga
Blue - Reading book
Grey - Craft eg. knitting, model building.

I suppose nobody ever said life was going to be easy. Would just be nice if it wasn't QUITE so difficult sometimes!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.