A thoughtful gesture

During period two this morning, there was a knock on the classroom door.

In popped a student with a bunch of flowers for me. They were from a colleague.

A few days ago, I mentioned that it looked as if she had lost some weight. I know that she has been struggling with this for a while and so when I noticed that she looked slimmer, I just thought I'd mention it.

I try to say nice things to people whenever they pop into my mind. I hate negativity and if a colour suits someone or their new haircut is flattering or they have a nice shirt/pair of earrings/smile then I tell them.

It's quite funny the range of reactions I get. Some people get suspicious and then come back to me later on to apologise and thank me for the compliment. Others blush and graciously accept it. Others still find that an otherwise average day has been brightened up.

I don't make these compliments to be weird and I certainly don't expect them to compliment me back. I just know that if there is something positive to be said then it should be said.

It builds people up and makes them feel good. It makes me feel good too.

As Nina54 would say, it feeds the right animal.

Anyway, these flowers and a little pin cushion were from Kaz to say thanks.

What a honey.

It brought a smile to my face so I guess that's two of us with 'made days'.

=)

I'm slowly learning that sometimes it doesn't have to be a perfect shot. This is a lovely reminder of my day and that's what blip is mainly about for me.

Have a good weekend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.