Flying-leap

By flying

Avon River, Christchurch, New Zealand

Today was Jury Service day - it was fine once I got there.  I allowed an hour  but it wasn't enough time and I was late! I'm never late and didn't enjoy walking into a room full of people.  The traffic was worst than I anticipated so tomorrow I will leave earlier. Yes, I have to go back tomorrow probably for the same roll call, my name wasn't selected today and it could be like this for the rest of the week.

Thank you for all the support and encouragement you have given me.  I carried your wishes with me today which helped alot.  I'm feeling alittle happier about tomorrow.

With finishing early I was able to stroll round the city.  It was covered in low cloud today but the sun came out a little.  The photo is of the Avon River flowing through Victoria Square.  The Victoria Bridge was built in 1863-1864 and was reputedly the first of such bridge in New Zealand. It was widened in 1875 and closed to traffice in 1988 due to the redevelopment of Victoria Square.
On the right is a ball of white which is one of three fountains behind the Christchurch Town Hall.  To me this is a special place as our girls, who you met yesterday, have performed on numerous occasions with school orchestras and other musical activities they have been involved with.  It is also a lovely small area in the middle of the city of which to sit back, relax and enjoy.  There is quite often people enjoying a 'punt' on the river and there are always plenty of ducks.

Today was also the day Daughter A returned to Wellington.  It was sad to see her go, but she went with a smile and assures us she'll be back in August. We had some wonderful family time and she had a great rest and good home cooked food!

Turning in early tonight, its been quite a day, thanks everyone :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.