Dad & Nuria

Dad roasted a pig today and invited Ted's friends and family over to celebrate his life.
He made a shadow box with photos of Ted and the hat he was wearing when he was killed last Sunday. Mom said Dad kept walking over to the corner and just staring at the box.
My dad is completely torn up about the loss of his best friend and "soul mate".
My dad loved Ted more than any friend he's ever had. I am hurting so much to see him shaken up so much.
Silly me, I wrote Ted a blackberry message today telling him how much I love and miss him.
I told Nuria that she has now inherited me as her God-daughter. She said she takes that seriously.
I can't stop crying. I don't know if there's going to be closure.
Ted was such a great man. The most important lesson he ever shared with me was that it was okay to love [someone] when they've wronged you. I won't get into the details of that story online, but the simplest lesson has meant the world to me and changed the way I view my relationships with those whom I love.
Hate the sin. Love the sinner.
Ted was going to be my guardian after my dad passed away. Now when my dad is gone, who is going to look out for me? It scares me.
I'm rambling. I know. I just have so many things running through my mind. Tears are constantly streaming down my face. I just hope Ted knew how much I loved him and looked up to him.
Looking through my external hard drives, I am kicking myself for not having more photos of Ted. I'm glad Nuria does though.
I just feel an urgency to start taking more photos of my family and friends with each other. I don't want to be caught with such a dearth of portraits in the future.

Theodore J. Caffarel
January 30, 1951 - July 4, 2010
Love you and miss you, Uncle Ted. May you rest in peace. I'll never forget you.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.