Sailing school

Nice weather again this morning, so after dropping Carl off to work I made my way to Dún Laoghaire harbour for a bit of a walk and a blip wander.

For a change, i decided to walk the West Pier (it's usually the East Pier that I'd turn to). I'll never understand why the Dún Laoghaire Harbour Company was set up rather than have the harbour run by the local council as it used to be. The most unfortunate consequence of Company control has been the widespread introduction of pay & display parking, that old reliable rip-off. The hours are especially stringent, applying every day from 9.00 am until 8.00 pm where I was this morning (and for even longer in other Harbour areas). So I paid my fee with poor grace and went for a pleasant walk.

The West Pier isn't as well maintained as its easterly equivalent, but it's a pleasant walk all the same, and I really enjoyed the hour or so which I spent. It was all a buzz of activity, with lots of people out for a walk as I was, or fishing, or just sitting around enjoying the sunshine. There was great activity out on the water too, including this sailing school for children. Some of those in control of the little craft were better than others, and I couldn't decide if the frequent collisions were deliberately caused by young sailors behaving in bumper fashion, or if they were just a case of learning the hard way. At least nobody capsized.

p.s. I've back-blipped Mum's taxi (Friday), The pint that cheers (Saturday), and Merc bikes (Sunday).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.