Postcard from Sydney - Day One - Arrival

I woke up at 4 am today to get to the airport to catch my plane to Sydney. B arrived dutifully (after a restless night of fretting that he would oversleep - bless him) and, after a few last minute, and unnecessary, instructions re dog and cat, we headed off to the airport. I went to check in. Ooops. No Ozzie visa. Went to the sales desk to get one. The man on the desk wasn't confident that I'd be able to get a visa at such short notice, despite the fact that I'd done it before. He hummed and haaahed for a while and then (thank you Guardian Angel) declared that I was one lucky individual and it had gone through.

Boarding pass duly issued.

Uneventful flight, apart from the twelve year old boy sitting next to me who figured that his need for arm space far out-rivalled mine. Fortunately, I have some considerable experience of the whole 'tactical use of the elbow' stuff and so was able to fight back. I watched Nanny McPhee.

I arrived in Sydney and got through customs (despite the wee Beagle taking a considerable interest in my jeans. He could no doubt smell Cousteau on them).

A train and a bus later and I was in Neutral Bay. I grabbed a coffee and a sandwich and waited for S to come and pick me up. We came back to her place and I crashed out on the couch, watching some lame kids' movie while she went back to work.

We then watched another movie (I don't think I've ever seen so many movies in one day!) and then headed out for tea. Chinese. Nice.

Today has felt like a struggle to keep awake from start to finish. I am now in bed as I type this. I'll post it when I get a chance, maybe tomorrow.

The land of nod beckons. Night.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.