Postcard from Sydney - Day Two - St. Patricks

Woke up early and managed to get back to sleep. By the time I got up, it was a respectable 8.30 am. I read for a while before knocking on S's door to see if she was up and about.

We caught the bus to The Rocks and headed straight for St. Patrick's Church. As I walked though the door, I realised that Mass was about to start. I lit a candle, prayed for a few moments and then left them to it.

We had a coffee in the coffee shop, served by some lovely ladies who were volunteers and we read some information about the church.

The sun was shining and all was well with the world. We discussed the possibility of walking back to S's house via the Harbour Bridge. Then it started raining.

We headed back to the church so that I could take some photographs. It was still busy with people popping in to pray during their lunchtime, so I respectfully snapped a few shots without disturbing the peace too much. How anyone, believer or not, could fail to be moved by the tranquillity and reverence of this place baffles me. It was just so beautiful, calm and peaceful. These photos don't really do it justice but were all I could manage with the low light and given that I didn't want to disturb people in their prayer.

Then we caught the bus home due to the rain. I studied for my correspondence course for a couple of hours while S caught up on her Zzzzz.

We went out to a Chinese restaurant (two nights in a row!) where I ate so much, I thought I was going to burst. Well, maybe not quite, but by the time I'd tried everything (the garlic spinach was particularly good) I was pretty full.

Home again. S has gone to bed and I am lying in my little bed trying to make a blip out of the decidedly average shots I took today.

I'm not sure if it's Sydney, the rain or just tiredness, but any creativity I may have has got up and gone. I?ve been here numerous times before and so am not really here for the sight-seeing thing. I?m here to see S and so haven't really been anywhere to take photos. She has no garden so I can't revert to my macro shots. She has no pets who will pose for me! So, this is what the real world's like! =)

Night.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.