Dublin Shooter

By dublinshooter

Empty cups

I was up bright and early for my appointment with the Fracture Clinic and the physiotherapist for yet another wrist checkup. It was only as I neared the hospital and reached for my camera that I realised I'd left home without it. How could this be possible? I mean to say, I'd brought it everywhere with me while away on holiday (often to Carl's annoyance), and now here I am, at home and with the eminently blippable hospital environment ahead of me, and I leave the thing at home! Am I a real blipper at all?!

The word from the hospital was mixed -- bone perfectly healed, so no need to attend the clinic for two months, but it's slightly out of alignment and I shouldn't expect an eventual return to any more than 90% of full rotational mobility: also, the numbness and tingling sensations which caused such discomfort at times while away may be due to either nerve degeneration or maybe even nerve damage. The medical advice was to keep up with physiotherapy, but to contact the clinic if the symptoms persist and make an appointment sooner than two months down the road. Either way, they'll do a neck x-ray next time to check for nerve damage.

After the clinic it was back in line for a short while to wait for the physiotherapist to be free. It was a different girl this time, and she gave me some new exercises to keep me busy for the next two weeks. She also stressed the importance of administering regular 'contrast baths' (immersing the wrist alternately in cold and warm water) to help reduce the swelling.

I had a few things to do around town when I left the hospital, but I was feeling a bit down after the down-beat wrist news/prognosis, abandoned my original plan of treating myself to a bite of breakfast and some retail therapy, and came back home for a lie-down and yet another lazy afternoon. When I finally got my act together I came across the cups I use when I host a Music Group session, still in the kitchen since the last time I'd hosted. Rather than put them away immediately I decided to blip them. My routine is to arrange ten of them neatly in a 10-pin-bowling triangular setup (handles all pointing the same way, of course), so that's how I set them up for the shot.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.