Give me strength!

The doing-a-favour saga continued today and came to an end (at least part one did) around 3.00 pm. Despite all yesterday's assurances, it took a further four rounds of textual changes (each followed by proof production) before we reached the absolutely, definitely, positively final sign-off.

I prefer my daily walks to have a purpose to them, and today's was about getting a new supply of CDRs so I could burn final artwork to disc. I'd been told when I went out that we'd reached finality, so was just about to insert one of the new CDRs and burn a disc. Fortunately, before doing that I checked email. Sure enough there was another request for changes, this time going back to the actual invitation, which I'd understood had been signed off on yesterday. I lost my rag a bit, for the first time during this whole sorry saga, and let my displeasure be known, and followed this up when we met face to face at the print shop by letting them know that if they were ever to become actual paying clients they'd definitely be charged on a time basis rather than being given a fixed price.

The guy in the print shop was wonderfully helpful and efficient, we went through every possible detail of the job and he promised to have the finished product available tomorrow afternoon. I'm glad to see the back of it. The 'clients' are on notice that, when it comes to the next stage of this favour, I will only proceed on the understanding that all copy has been finalised before being passed on to me.

I let them buy me a cup of coffee afterwards, and had another cup of coffee when I got back home (instant this time). I think maybe my caffeine intake is a bit on the high side these days, and perhaps I should cut down a bit. We shall see. After the experience of the past few days I was sorely tempted to add something a bit stronger to the coffee, bur resisted the temptation ... after all, as I told the dietician several times, I'm just a social drinker, and only at weekends. I don't want to ruin a perfectly good reputation.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.