Swimming Against The Tide

By ViolaMaths

Pussy Pills

Yet another day where feline care took priority over human needs! This is becoming a bit of a habit round here!

The vet rang with the result of Athena's blood test - apparently she has a thyroid function of 100, where the top of the normal range is 60, so she definitely needs some treatment. Apparently the thyroid problem is also interfering with her liver function, so it needs treating pronto to avoid doing any more damage.

I sat and listened to all possible treatment options - surgery etc etc etc, and learnt that cats have TWO thyroid glands (a bit like Dr Who has two hearts) and also a parathyroid which controls calcium levels. All very interesting etc etc.

Anyway, after the phone call I footled off back to the vet, where I collected these pills for her, another bottle of painkilling juice, and then went to the supermarket to buy luxury catfood, tins of tuna etc etc etc in which to hide the pills!

I have now spent about half of this month's income on vet bills! I really hope that the car gets through its MOT without too much hassle next week or I shall end up in debtors' prison! ;-)

If I suddenly disappear from the bliposphere, then please send a large chocolate cake with a file baked into it for my escape. If the file's too much trouble, then just a bit of extra buttercream in the cake will do. I like buttercream!

Can you tell that we're coping with all this stuff by being daft?

When the going gets tough, the tough go barmy!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.