oh, I did life.turns beside the seaside

Fortunately, not many other people were hanging around the bit of manky beach/sea wall next to a former effluent-pipe (at least, presumed former, considering that there are several holes cut into it just after it emerges onto the beach and that it appears to be mostly full of deposited sand) making it relatively easy to both stand in the odd positions required for this and also to leave camera/bag/tripod up to fifty feet away whilst the pictures were being taken, though if anyone had approached with the look of someone who might have considered stealing it I'd have stopped posing and returned to my stuff long before they came close enough to be able to suddenly run and make a grab for it even if they employed some form of cunning tactic such as throwing something at me first to make me have to jump off the pipe into the sea, slowing me down either by making the first few steps shorewards a thrash through the surf or requiring me to re-mount the pipe before running inland. Some people did turn up and set their dogs after me but I'd packed up and was wandering off by then.

Slightly earlier, the wingpiglet was taken for his first immersion in swimming-water, hopefully beginning the process of making him not in the least bit scared of water along the lines of my sister and I and contrary to the behaviours of my mother, Nicky's mother and (to an extent) Nicky, all of whom have face-getting-splashed issues which prevent them from being able to swim properly. Unfortunately, the location chosen for this was the rather skanky-looking-from-the-outside Magnum centre in Irvine, though the interior seemed reasonably clean and he doesn't seem to yet be exhibiting any signs of cold or cough. There was time for a little wander past the former Big Idea Inventor Centre earlier, which we wandered past at some point shortly after it opened (also, by necessity, shortly before it closed), possibly with some form of relative-child though I'd need to check the dates. I'd assumed that the site would be getting used for something else by now, but apparently not. Just as we got back to the car park we received word that Nicky's youngest cousin had had her unmatching twin gestatrons successfully untimely ripp'd out, roughly around the time when she'd originally been planning to get married prior to becoming pregnant.

Slightly later, we made use of Nicky's parents' DIY-warehouse former-employee discount to score some cheap paint for painting the flat over the remainder of this week, most of the weekend and all evenings thereafter until it's finished.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.