My Angle

By myangle

More Storms

20sec, f22, 100ISO, 18-55mm lens @ 18mm, tripod, Canon 350D

Tonight's blip is supplied by Mother Nature, and She was having a tantrum. I am thankful that a storm came along because I really didn't have much in the way of blip ideas. I watched this storm approach for most of the afternoon but much like yesterday, there was little rain in it. Someone got rain and probably lots of it, but not above where I am. There isn't much on here at work so as soon as the production manager left I wandered over to the empty block across the road and set my tripod up. I actually took a shot with me in front of the camera admiring the storm, but a nearby lightning strike gave me a brown moment and I decided that it might be a good idea to huddle next to the car while I waited for that perfect shot. I didn't get quite the result I was hoping for, but it isn't too bad. I think next time I will shoot at F11 because I had to do a fair amount of work to make this photo presentable. It was a bit dark to start with and as a result it is now a bit noisy.

I have been trying to work out what direction my Blip is going in recently. Most of my ideas for creative photos have been used up and I am now spending my days desperately trying to think of something to wow my fellow blippers with. I think I am missing the point a bit. My blip is a visual daily journal as well as a place to put a nice photo should one present itself during the day.

From now, rather than spending silly amounts of time looking for that special photo, I will try and photograph something significant about my day. The event which sums it up maybe. That should take the pressure off a little and give me a bit more time to concentrate on things that really need doing. If I capture something really nice it will be a bonus. Because of my shift work I am usually asleep in the morning and working in the evening. That leaves me with the middle of the day when the light is at its flattest to try and capture something worthwhile which isn't always easy.

Here are some other examples of lightning.
MyRearviewMirror
darkadapted
pinhole sky expoldes out
and probably my favourite:
small pieces of my life

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.