Carol: Rosie & Mr. Fun

By Carol

Life.turns Graduate Re-do

Rather than a flat-hat, I should be wearing a dunce hat today! Nobody in her right mind would re-do this shot just because it did not get uploaded through the life.turns template, so I am proclaiming that I am not in my right mind. Not sure exactly when the last time I was in my right mind or even if I have one. Okay, no one needs to show this message to my new students who will arrive in 4 or so weeks.

Last Thursday in my eagerness to participate in this newest Blipfoto fun, I posted this "Graduate" Life.turns Figure 5 for Joe and the good crew at BlipCentral, but I could not get the template to open. So what does a "smart" girl do? She uploads it anyway. Bad idea. I should have uploaded a photo of a rose or a bug or a bird. So my purple-hatted graduate is out there somewhere walking all by herself!

So today the re-do. I told the story of the purple hat last time (interestingly, no one noticed, including me, that I had forgotten to put the tassle on the flat hat last time). So, please note the tassle is attached today.

This whole journey of college started for me long ago when my (then) 19 year old son asked me to accompany him to the local community college to get registered for classes. I knew nothing about college. He didn't care. He wanted my wallet along for that registration moment.

I had irresponsibly dropped out of school to marry my irresponsible boyfriend because we had a baby on the way and back then that was the most hideous shameful of crimes, so schools shunned girls in that condition. I guess that was prior to the age of civilization (I'm joking).

Quite frankly, I was so immature (I was 15) that I did not care that school for me was coming to an end. I married that boyfriend, who became my life partner and my soulmate and is today my best friend.

Ironically, 19 years later that baby which had grown into a young adult led me to college. The entire educational experience put me rightside-up in the career world and changed my life. Even though I missed graduating from high school, I've graduated three times: once from community college, once from the university, and once from graduate school. Now, I participate in graduation every June to watch my students as they complete their community college journey at our campus and move to the next chapter of their lives.

So if no one has figured it out, I love graduations. I also love ceremonies. I love a good masquerade party too. Actually, I just love having fun.

So if you want to know why the hat is purple, you'll need to read last Thursday's page. Mostly, I just think it's great that you've read this far. You are amazing. All the comments yesterday were surprising and wonderful. Makes me want to be naughty and go eat another delicious fattening meal.

Good night from Southern California.
Rosie (& Mr. Fun), aka Carol

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.