Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Marjorie plays Debussy

Not me, but my friend Marjorie, who is a wonderful pianist. Today she brought her 'cello and I accompanied her on the piano. In the past she has always accompanied me on my flute. Marjorie has taken up the 'cello as an adult beginner (and she won't mind me saying she is over the magic pensionable age). She is doing well, but progress for adult learners is always frustratingly slow. (We know just how we want the instrument to sound but our fingers don't always do what we tell them to!)

I forgot to find my camera when she was playing the 'cello, and it was packed away, so I asked her to play piano while I took a few shots. Some were taken with flash and the hand movements were stilled, making them look quite stilted and artificial. I opted in the end for this hand held shot where there is just one small area of the keys in focus. The hands are in motion, playing Debussy in a fluid and beautiful way.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.