Old Dogs

The Urch gave me a book of photographs by Elliott Erwitt a while ago. It has been in my living room since then and I think his stuff is brilliant.

His photos are sometimes incredible compositions that have very subtle or very obvious humour and he has an incredible eye for a moment of interesting coincidence, contrast or just plain slap-stick silly stuff. I don't know if I have ever had a present that seemed to fit in my living room quite as perfectly. (thanks Urch!)

The book inspired me massively and sometimes I see little moments now that have to be photos. Although I think I saw little scenes like that before, my senses for that sort of moment have been exaggerated by my book. Most often those moments pass in a second and by the time you get your camera out they are gone.

I definitely missed the perfect moment with this one, but I still liked it somehow. What amazes me the most, is that a lot of his best stuff was before the days of fast auto-focus, digital shutter freedom and computer fiddlery.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.