A Pre Birthday Treat

My mother had a favourite saying, which was -" I've never sat down all day". This sometimes alternated with " I've been on my feet all day".

Well like mother like daughter, although I did have a mini pre- birthday celebration for his Lordship's birthday( tomorrow) with a sit down this morning in John Lewis, that bastion of equality amongst staff.

We were there to chose two new telephones to replace the old ones which had got to the stage of ageing where the dock station one was so faint it was impossible to hear anything and the satellite one emitted what sounded like a scream for help after a minute of phone call.

With this mission accomplished we repaired to the cafe where his Lordship chose these cakes. I'm sure he won't mind my mentioning the fact that in keeping with the % game amongst the female blipfoto flab busters, I only ate a third of the strawberry tart and an eighth of the chocolatey thing.

Since then I have been boxing anything that can be moved, ready for lap2 of the removal marathon tomorrow.
Hopefully we will get the keys to the Dower House about lunch time, but the timing remains dependent on the lawyers.

The young couple over the road who have bought the castle have invited us for a glass of wine tonight.
We will take with us a bottle of Champagne and make a toast to many years of happy family life for them in the home that we have all loved so much.

"To the castle!"

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.