habituating

Eight months ago I'd never have suspected that in eight month's time I'd be happily almost-but-not-quite lying down on a path through Leith Links with my camera and most expensive lens, looking about only to watch out for people who might accidentally trip over the camera rather than walking through it as quickly and silently as possible with ears and eyes strained for people who might potentially wish to rob me or stab me with a sharpened screwdriver for not spitting on the pavement frequently enough. Lucky that we moved here at the brighteningest time of year so that by the time the evenings get darker all the bits which might induce trepidation do so less severely, having been seen for what they are in daylight. Of course, wearing my fastest trainers and knowing the directions of safe places, police stations, lockable houses and climbable trees and drainpipes all help. I took a slightly better-lit route back on the way home when I was weighted down a little with seven litres of fruit juice.

I was far too tired for it to be wise to bike to work this morning, given the extra idiocy exhibited by motor-car drivers when the roads are damp and slippy. Walking in takes thrice the time but when it's raining this means three times as long to be soothed about the face by nice cool rain, though it had started to dry up a bit by the time I bumped into Mr StevieFish opposite his employment-building and had stopped by the time I set off again, though there was still a fair bit stored on my head despite trying to scrape it off to avoid the usual mistake I make of not bothering to dry my head when I get into the office and then rubbing it when thinking at some point and spraying little droplets all over my keyboard and monitor. Another reason for walking was the expected lunchtime temporary relocation to a different office though this turned into a more temporary popping just for a meeting, and did not immediately follow the TTT lunch-meet as I had expected it might. Despite still being quite tired, all extra walking was welcomed and despite the need to then go back to the proper office after being at the office which is slightly nearer home I still managed to get back before the wingpiglet was retired for the evening.

Video - I would never have said that, especially not whilst it was recording
(Also on Vimeo in case YouTube is firewalled.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.