D77

By D77

Cheeky

Picture the scene: your boss has taken a sly day off, and personally asked you to lie as to his whereabouts if anyone should want him, the latter event being unlikely due to the Chairman and the President being off on some Ramadan jolly somewhere.

Phone rings.

The Chairman of the Board of Directors urgently needs to speak to the boss. Secretary informed that boss is 'sorting out his furniture' (his instructions to me, which didn't seem odd at the time, but which at that moment seemed rather pathetic).

Phone rings again, five minutes later. Secretary says never mind that furniture bullshit, get him on the phone...URGENTLY.

Oh dear. Boss is on a plane to Istanbul. What to do?

Secretary ignored.

Twenty minutes later secretary appears at office door. After denying all knowledge of where my boss was, I was given his task to do.

It was to translate the Chairman's CV from Arabic to English. Extremely urgent, I'm sure you'll agree.

I did it (yes, raheny_eye, I actually did it myself, without your help), using Google Translate, which apparently nobody is aware of, and therefore makes me appear awesome. I even made it look all pretty and stuff.

Today was the last day of work before the Eid holiday which starts tomorrow. The bus was a bit more crowded than usual, but bearable, and everyone was full of high spirits ahead of the weekend's celebrations.

Pictured above is Emam. I don't really know him, as it was his first appearance on my bus, but he seemed to know me and tried to get me to photograph the back of the bus driver's head. I've no idea why he wanted me to do that, but guessed by the way all the old boys at the front were giggling away (and judging by Emam's expression here) it must be a highly amusing in-joke (no doubt partly at my expense too).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.